The Carrie Diaries

It has been 5 days since I started this fantasy-like whirlwind of an adventure with Carrie in this glamorous and dazzling New York City, and I have already finished 2 seasons worth of this drama filled with cute boys and big dreams.

I found all the characters intriguing, and saw pieces of myself in a few of them. For instance, Carrie and I have the same dream of being a writer, Mouse and I had the life-long dream (yes all 19 years of my life) of getting into a particular college, and Maggie and I have the dream of having kids and settling down with a nice family.

Writing has always been one of my greatest interests but I have to admit that I don’t excel at it enough to pursue it professionally. However, I do enjoy writing my thoughts down, which is why I started this site.

There was a particular phrase from one of Mouse’s scene with Donna, where she basically said this: “I’ve been trying to get in since I came out of the womb. And now I did. Suddenly I’m a goal-less wonder.” This is basically what I told my Mum after I got into the university that I’ve been trying so hard to get into. I fulfilled my lifelong goal so basically I don’t have any more goals left to fulfil. My Mum and I laughed incredulously when we watched this scene together, surprised at how uncanny this character was in terms of the similarity to my current predicament.

This TV show made me think about my approaching university life that I am pretty intimidated by, as well as what kind of job I want to have in my future. Although it is very unrealistic in relation to showing how hard you actually have to work to achieve all those things the characters had, it did help provide me a new and more positive perspective to my reality. Even if my reality is not as fairytale-like as the world of Carrie, sometimes a unique perspective can work wonders and inspire me in ways a realistic show can’t.

The show involved a lot of sex, drinking, partying, clubbing, and sometimes even drug-taking. This was the only part that made me cringe in this show. Maybe it’s the different way I was brought up and the culture I grew up in, I just could not relate much to that stuff. But it’s fun to see the other side of things and a whole different world I’m not exposed to that much.

One thing I was disappointed by though was how the author managed to turn everyone of Carrie’s ex-es (except Sebastian) into a jerk even though they had appeared to be adults with a much more mature mindset than the guys in her age group. For example, Harlan’s son who could not understand the concept of how important her virginity is to her even though he had been so understanding about her freaking out and short circuiting her house during thanksgiving. And the really hot guy who was the famous writer in the show. I forgot his name. He opened up to her about things he probably never told anyone, and yet he tried to ruin her reputation after the break-up? I mean it wasn’t like she cheated on him or anything. It felt like the author was just trying to make it justified for her to break up with them, just so that she can end up with Sebastian again.

Other than this, it was a pretty good show that made me reflect on a lot of things in my life, and made me want to try new things and explore new places. It was also great fun to watch and very entertaining with loads of eye candy, (aka Austin Butler and Annasophia Robb) and the vibrancy and colour of the fashion in the 80s!

Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

